The 5 Love Languages

Do actions speak louder than words? For some people they might. For others, receiving compliments and words of encouragement make them feel more loved. Perhaps you have a friend who gushes every time her husband gives her a gift, or a friend who is upset because her partner never buys her flowers. For them, receiving gifts is a strong affirmation of love.

Whether it’s dating relationships, parents, coworkers, or friends, learning to speak and receive your own love language applies to every one of your relationship. We all have a preferred way we like to receive emotional love. Find out yours by taking the quiz below.



Words of Affirmation
You prefer compliments or words of encouragement.



Quality Time
You prefer undivided attention.



Receiving Gifts
You like to receive symbols of love, like flowers or chocolates.



Acts of Service
Help setting the table, walking the dog, or doing other small jobs are important to you.



Physical Touch
You prefer cuddling, holding hands, or kissing.

In Dr. Gary Chapman’s bestselling book The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts*, he explains how knowing which love language your partner speaks can transform your relationship. Dr. Chapman says you need to ask, “What’s most important to me?” and “What does my spouse seem to request most often in the relationship?”

*This book is available for check out at Breast Cancer Connections library.

Discover your love language